Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
May 16
ADN graduates receive pins

ADN students 2017.jpg

Associate Degree of Nursing students and their instructors take time out for a picture prior to a pinning ceremony at North Platte Community College on Friday. The pinning served as a symbolic welcome into the nursing profession.

Thirty-one Associate Degree of Nursing students were recognized Friday during a pinning ceremony at North Platte Community College. The pinning served as a symbolic welcome into the nursing profession. 

Kathy Harrison, director of nursing, introduced the graduates. 

"You've been on a long journey and made many sacrifices," Harrison told them. "Through your determination, you have made it. Being a nurse isn't about the grades. It's about being who you are." 

The student speakers were Adrienne McDaniel, Kayla Dotson and Candice Myers. 

"These past two years have been a roller coaster of emotion, from highest of highs to lowest of lows," said McDaniel. "I think about how far we've come, from being strangers to becoming family. The memories, the friendships we've made - will last forever." 

Dotson called her experience at NPCC "incredible" and said she now feels prepared and confident to be a nurse. 

"This is only the start of the journey we will embark on," Myers said. "We have put so much time and hard work into getting this far. We have accomplished something significant. We have survived nursing school."" 

The following students received pins: 

Arnold - Mackenzie Kulp, Bre Anna Zierke 

Cozad - Krystal Hernandez, Temerree Maudlin 

Curtis - Chelsie Markley, Adrienne McDaniel 

Indianola - Justine Jones                   

Lewellen - April Toepfer 

Mason City - Stephanie Jensen 

McCook - Sadey Bessmer, Angela Watts 

North Platte - Andrea Alvarado, Kyla Bailey, Colleen Christensen, Kimberly Collins, Taylor Cooper, Bethany Daly, Kayla Dotson, Treu Gibson, Daphne Maaliao, Rachel Mullen, Candice Myers, Brooke Rubenthaler, Neissa Silos, Shea Simmons, Michelle Thursby 

Overton - Nicole Ackman 

Paxton - Rebecca White 

Sutherland - Brandy McConnell, Kristen Nelson     


Haiku - Kaile Jacobson

Heather Johnson
Area Communications Specialist

Heather produces and distributes press releases for the college. She began work at MPCC in 2014. Prior to that, she spent five years as the news director/web manager for Eagle Radio in North Platte. From 2009-2014 she worked as a reporter/photographer for The North Platte Telegraph. Heather has a bachelor's degree in journalism from Chadron State College.

Brent L. Cobb
McCook Community College News Bureau Coordinator​​​