High school students win $40k at MCC Inter-High Day

MCC Inter-High Day tour
Thursday, February 15, 2024

After competing in the STEM/Engineering competition at MCC's Inter-High Day, high school students toured American Agricultural Laboratory, Inc. in McCook and learned about the facility.


Area high school students took exams and made presentations in 26 academic subjects Wednesday at McCook Community College’s Inter-High Day. More than $15,000 was awarded in scholarships and another $25,000 awarded in free tuition credits.

Students from Perkins County, Dundy County-Stratton and Medicine Valley claimed the top team honors.

In the large-school division Perkins County claimed top honors, with Southern Valley second and McCook third.

Dundy-County Stratton was tops in the medium-size school division, Hitchcock County was second and Southwest High School third.

In the small-school division, Medicine Valley was first Hayes Center second and Maywood third.

In addition to the tests and presentations, students also had the chance for hands-on demonstrations as well as tours around town to introduce students to local businesses operating in their areas of interest. Between the scheduled activities, there were various activities available for students in the Peter and Dolores Graff Events Center like corn hole and spike ball.

Four-year partner schools had representatives on hand to talk about opportunities for Mid-Plains Community College graduates and the benefits of getting an associate degree with MPCC, then transferring to their schools. Those benefits include scholarships and pathway programs with Chadron, Bellevue, Doane and the University of Nebraska-Kearney,

College staff offered high school counselors information about financial aid, early entry and dual credit, career services, admissions and the value of attending MPCC. College faculty were also on hand to talk about their programs.

Here are the winners from MCC Inter-High Day:


Accounting Principles – 1. Halee Maris, McCook; 2. Zach Hinze, McCook; 3. Kamden Bose, Southern Valley.

Advanced Math – 1. Trevor Carlson, Hitchcock County; 2. Ryder Potts, Perkins County; 3. Stella Heapy, Medicine Valley.

Algebra I – 1. Ethan Brown, Medicine Valley, 2. Jacqueline Gloy, Perkins County, 3. Caylie Softley, Hayes Center.

Algebra II – 1. Isaac Hamilton, Southern Valley, 2. Brodie Rogers, Dundy County-Stratton, 3. Jill McArthur, Hitchcock County.

Biology – 1. Kahner Kotschwar, Medicine Valley, 2. Ryder Potts, Perkins County, 3. Natalee Holste, Southern Valley.

Business: Mock Interview – 1. Brock Tines, Perkins County, 2. Kamden Bose, Southern Valley, 3. Emma Klahn, Perkins County.

Business Microsoft Office – 1. Noah Wiese, Dundy County-Stratton, 2. Brock Bailey, Dundy County-Stratton.

Chemistry – 1. Trevor Carlson, Hitchcock County, 2. Kaleb Einspahr, Medicine Valley, 3. Daniel Hampton, Perkins County.

Criminal Justice – 1. Benjamin McClain, Perkins County, 2. Nolan Foster, Perkins County, 3. Ava Reese, Perkins County.          

Early Childhood – 1. Bailley Nelsen and Stella Heapy, Medicine Valley, 2. Kenna Busick and Kailee Potts, Perkins County, 3. Brooklyn Santifer and Ehme Linner, Southern Valley.

English Composition – 1. Emily Cornelius, Perkins County, 2. Mariah Peterson, Wauneta-Palisade, 3. Rowan Fletcher, Maywood.

English Literature – 1. Natalie Dame, McCook, 2. Charlie Callis, Maywood, 3. Ellie Broz, Hayes Center.

Geometry – 1. Adeasha Escobar-Salas, Southwest, 2. Conner Tyerman, Perkins County, 3. Conner Latta, Hitchcock County.

Graphic Design – 1. Briana Ledford, Perkins County, 2. Jennifer Franco, Dundy County-Stratton.

Health Occupations – 1. Kenna Busick, Perkins County, 2. Allison Wall, Eustis-Farnam, 3. Peyton Cox, Wauneta-Palisade.

Information Technology – 1. Brodie Rogers, Dundy County-Stratton, 2. Haylee Thomas, Southwest, 3. Rian Grove, Southern Valley.

Leadership – 1. Brock Tines, Perkins County, 2. Alyssa Schneider, Dundy County-Stratton, 3. Emma Klahn, Perkins County.

Marketing – 1. Kamden Bose, Southern Valley, 2. Brock Tines, Perkins County, 3. Colby Noel, Southern Valley.

MCC Facts – 1. Alexus Yerington, Hayes Center, 2. Ryleigh McCrumb, Wauneta-Palisade, 3. Peyton Cox, Wauneta-Palisade.

Monologue workshop and Theater Competition – 1. August Miller, Dundy County-Stratton, 2. Kaitlin Meyer, Perkins County.

Music - Instrumental – 1. Austin Thompson, Southwest.

Music – Vocal – 1. Daelyn Mues, Hitchcock County, 2. Mykuh Hanson, McCook, 3. Benton Haskell, Dundy County-Stratton.

Music Theory – 1. Mykuh Hanson, McCook, 2. Isaac Hamilton, Southern Valley, 3. Wyatt Felzien, McCook.

Physics (team competition) – 1. Nathan Kollmorgan, Hitchcock County and Abigail Foster, Dundy County-Stratton; 2. Cyrus Rodriquez, Cooper Soundy and Braydon Cox, Hayes Center; 3. Maggie Fisher and Daniel Hampton, Perkins County.

Sociology – 1. Conner Tyerman, Perkins County, 2. Ashton Wheeler, Wauneta-Palisade, 3. Sarah Holste, Southern Valley.

STEM/Engineering – 1. Myles Bishop, Perkins County, 2. Riley Hagan, Hitchcock County, 3. Dylan Freed, Dundy County Stratton.


Division 1: 1. Perkins County, 2. Southern Valley, 3. McCook.

Division 2: 1. Dundy County-Stratton, 2. Hitchcock County, 3. Southwest.

Division 3: 1. Medicine Valley, 2. Hayes Center, 3. Maywood.