Lisa Beans named MCC’s outstanding faculty member

Lisa Bean
Friday, May 7, 2021

English teacher Lisa Beans was named the 2021 winner of the McCook Community College Gene Budig Award for Outstanding Faculty. The announcement came at the college's Commencement activities Friday in the Peter and Dolores Graff Events Center.

"Lisa is an exceptional teacher who is always prepared for her classes, and works hard to create an interesting and engaging learning environment," said a letter of nomination. "She tries to make her coursework relevant for her students, connecting discussions and assignments to current-day concerns and events."

Beans was ultimately selected by the college's Budig Award selection committee and submitted to the Mid-Plains Community College Cabinet. Budig who was an MCC graduate, provides a $1,000 award each year to recognize and honor outstanding educators.

MCC faculty members have seen that Miss Beans's students like and respect her– even while teaching in a discipline recognized as challenging.

"She works long hours outside the classroom to assess papers and other work promptly so students can get useful feedback and improve their writing skills," said one faculty member.

She is known by students and faculty alike to be a dedicated student mentor, holding office hours in the Student Success Center so students can find her easily and get the help they need. On top of regular office hours she holds numerous writing, citation, and other workshops to support students in their writing for other classes. She mentors high school students every year, helping them with their current challenges and assisting them in transitioning to college life.

Outside the classroom, she is co-leader the MCC's Bridge to Success Program, working with students weeks before the fall semester begins to help them be college-ready. She helps with the International Club, and piloted a study-abroad program for students to Ireland. She regularly volunteers with hiring committees and other institutional service.

"She is a model employee, an excellent instructor and a great student mentor," said the nomination letter.

Gene Budig Award Winners

2008 – Loretta Hauxwell

2009 – Sue Watts

2010 – (No winner)

2011 – Megan Friesen

2012 – Janet Stalder

2013 – Becky Meyers

2014 – Rob Bogardus

2015 – Jim Hall

2016 – Lorrie Mowry

2017 – Tyler Esch

2018 – Susi Curl

2019 – Clay Grizzle

2020 – Rick Johnson

2021 – Lisa Beans