NPCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

Chloe Walchesky
Monday, March 27, 2023

Thirty-three students were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Sunday afternoon at North Platte Community College.

The ritual included a presentation by Dr. Stephen Chicoine, sociology and criminal justice instructor at the college, and a candle lighting ceremony. Inductees were also presented with white roses and gold stoles to wear at commencement.

PTK is the world’s largest and most prestigious honor society for two-year college students, and NPCC is home to the Alpha Beta Theta chapter.

The inductees were:

Alliance – Avah Steggall

Broken Bow – Micah Books

Cozad – Karissa Jackson

Gothenburg – Ashlyn Parrett

Hershey – Abby Hassett

Madrid – Emma Klahn

North Platte – Montannia Courtney, Kaitlyn Evans, Breanna Lundgreen, Gabriel Marquez, Lily Mixer, Jaden Ouderkirk, Kerry Sides, Daniel Start, Savannah Stefanatz, Andrew Tejral, Anja Tejral, Brylee Thompson, Jamie Tobey, Chloe Walchesky, Natalia Wiezorek

Ogallala – Betsy Crum

Sutherland – Bailey Zona

Valentine – Taylor Battershaw, Lynnette Kent

Wellfleet – Chloe Stucky


New Raymer – Emily Johnson

Greeley – Vanessa Wood

Holyoke – Shyanne Conde


Torrington – Reece Halley


Houston – Remie Haynes


Buenos Aires – Juan Zanguitu


Asaba – Fumnanya Ijeh